Pages in topic:   [1 2] >
Should I be charged VAT on an invoice from a company in Spain?
Thread poster: Wendy Cummings

Wendy Cummings  Identity Verified
United Kingdom
Local time: 22:33
Member (2006)
Spanish to English
+ ...
Feb 4, 2015

I am a sole trader based in England. I am not VAT registered and, as I understand it, “I do not have a VAT number pursuant to Article 272.1(d) of Directive 2006/112/EC and to HMRC Notice 700/1 (Apr 2010) Section 2 - VAT exempt invoice pursuant to Article 196 of Directive 2006/112/EC - This service is subject to the VAT reverse charge”. This is what I write when I send invoices to Spain.

Recently I outsourced a piece of work to a Spanish agency. They asked for my NIF and I told them I didn't have one, and quoted the above. However, they have just sent me an invoice including VAT at the Spanish rate of 21%.

Is this correct? And, if not, how do I explain it to them?

Sheila Wilson  Identity Verified
Spain
Local time: 22:33
Member (2007)
English
+ ...
But your supplier IS registered for VAT Feb 4, 2015

No such thing as a translator in Spain who isn't registered for VAT (if they're trading legally), except for us way down here in the Canaries, where we aren't within the scope of VAT at all. So this person has to charge VAT on all invoices. If you can't claim it back (which you can't), then you have to pay it. That's my understanding, at any rate. They will be saying that they worked for a private individual, who paid the VAT.

Andrea Halbritter  Identity Verified
France
Local time: 23:34
Member (2014)
French to German
+ ...
It's correct Feb 4, 2015

Your supplier has to charge VAT if you do not have a VAT number. So yes, it's correct!

Mark Hamlen  Identity Verified
France
Member (2010)
French to English
+ ...
They have to charge it Feb 4, 2015

If you don't have an EU VAT number, all companies in the EU have to charge you VAT.