Thread poster: Marie-ever

Marie-ever  Identity Verified
Canada
Local time: 16:30
English to French
+ ...
Feb 4, 2015

Hi Linguists,

I work as a freelance translator in Canada (Quebec) and I have some concerns about the freelance industry.

Do I have to charge the taxes on my invoice when working with customers in Canada? What about other countries?

Also, I'd like to know if I need to register as a company if I work as a freelancer?

Thank you in advance!

MER

Sheila Wilson  Identity Verified
Spain
Local time: 21:30
Member (2007)
English
+ ...
Canada forum Feb 4, 2015

Have you researched this in the forum specifically about working in Canada? I'm sure it was discussed just a short while ago, and anyway that's the best place for this question.

Canada
English to French
+ ...
TOPIC STARTER
ok Feb 5, 2015

Hi Sheila,

well since nobody answered, I will try to browse on the forums and find it..

Best regards,
MER

Rahi Moosavi  Identity Verified
Canada
Member (2004)
Farsi (Persian) to English
+ ...
GST Feb 9, 2015

Hi Marie

CRA maintains that you need to register for GST and charge tax from Canadian clients when you are not a small supplier anymore. A small supplier is (incorporated or not):

A person whose revenue (along with the revenue of all persons associated with that person) from worldwide taxable supplies was equal to or less than $30,000 ($50,000 for public service bodies) in a calendar quarter and over the last four consecutive calendar quarters.

You don't need to charge tax from clients outside Canada.

You don't need to register a company to work as a freelancer, some people do and some don't.
I registered a sole proprietorship.

I'd be best to consult an accountant about the best path according to your conditions.

[Edited at 2015-02-09 15:20 GMT]

[Edited at 2015-02-09 15:21 GMT]

Canada
English to French
+ ...
TOPIC STARTER
Taxes and registration of company Feb 9, 2015

Thank you for the information, Mr Farsi.

Best,
MER