Literary translation from Polish to English- rates
Thread poster: Maniaq
Maniaq
English to Polish
Feb 25, 2015

Hello, first of all I would like to take this opportunity to say thank you to the proz community for all the support I've had from fellow translators for years. I have over 10 years of experience in legal translation and although I did 'Literary Translation' subject at university, I have never had an opportunity or an offer to do any translation of literary texts, so no experience here.

I've just had an offer of translating a novel from Polish into English (just over 87 000 words). As I normally work as an interpreter and translator in a legal field, I don't know the suggested rates for this type of work. I've tried to research the topic on proz but I haven't found current rate suggestions in GB pounds.
I see this translation project as an opportunity for myself and would love to be selected to do this job but at the same time I would like to get the pricing right without scaring off the client.

I work from the UK but the client is based in Poland, as I understand. I've contacted my colleague in Poland who deals with literary translation but in different languages (Swedish/English) and the suggestion was 30 zl (about £6 per page), which seems to me very little. I would really appreciate your help on this matter so that I could make an informed decision on how much to charge per word of translation.

Direct link Reply with quote

LilianNekipelov  Identity Verified
United States
Local time: 03:33
Russian to English
+ ...
Literary translation is completely different from legal, but if you want to do it, why not. Feb 25, 2015