IRPF for british resident
Thread poster: Leesha

Leesha
United Kingdom
Mar 16, 2015

Hello proz user,

I have done a months work for a spanish company as freelance translator. They wanted me to issue them an invoice for my monthly payment. After receiving the invoice they then told me that I have to pay 24% IRPF, which I can claim back from the spanish government once a year.

Now this is totally unacceptable for me, but sadly I know nothing about IRPF. I thought I only had to pay this if I am a Spanish resident? Do I really have to pay money to the spanish government? I have nothing to do with the spanish government, but I can imagine the hassle I will have to go through to get this money back. I do not own any spanish tax number either.

Can anyone help me please?

Sheila Wilson  Identity Verified
Spain
Local time: 18:37
Member (2007)
English
+ ...
Weird! Mar 16, 2015

Leesha wrote:
I have done a months work for a spanish company as freelance translator. They wanted me to issue them an invoice for my monthly payment. After receiving the invoice they then told me that I have to pay 24% IRPF, which I can claim back from the spanish government once a year.

I can only imagine they've never outsourced outside Spain before. It certainly only applies to Spanish-registered self-employed and companies.

Tom in London
United Kingdom
Member (2008)
Italian to English
UK Mar 16, 2015

Leesha wrote:

Hello proz user,

Now this is totally unacceptable for me, but sadly I know nothing about IRPF. I thought I only had to pay this if I am a Spanish resident? Do I really have to pay money to the spanish government? I have nothing to do with the spanish government, but I can imagine the hassle I will have to go through to get this money back. I do not own any spanish tax number either.

Can anyone help me please?