Emaleu Nemaleu Flore
Emaleu Nemaleu Flore  Identity Verified
Canada
Local time: 00:35
English to French
+ ...
May 20, 2015

Dear Colleagues,

A client wants me to shorten translations that were done by another translator.

I have never done this before and I wish to know how I should charge.

Thanks in advance for your help!

Elif Baykara Narbay
Elif Baykara Narbay  Identity Verified
Türkiye
Local time: 07:35
German to Turkish
+ ...
I suppose that this is an edition task, May 20, 2015

So you may charge accordingly.

Erik Freitag
Erik Freitag  Identity Verified
Germany
Local time: 06:35
Member (2006)
Dutch to German
+ ...
By the hour May 20, 2015

The only sensible way to do this is to charge by the hour.

Matthias Brombach
Matthias Brombach  Identity Verified
Germany
Member (2007)
Dutch to German
+ ...
Charge by hours May 20, 2015

Why not charging this service by your work hours rate? Take steps in fully hours.

Emaleu Nemaleu Flore
Canada
English to French
+ ...
TOPIC STARTER
Thanks May 20, 2015

Thanks Erik and Matthias, I think that's what I will do!

LEXpert
LEXpert  Identity Verified
United States
Local time: 23:35
Member (2008)
Croatian to English
+ ...
Purpose? May 20, 2015

What will they be used for? Usually gisting or abstracting by translators is done in order to avoid a translation of the entire document when only selected information is of interest/use to the client and/or to determine if they have sufficient interest in the document to translate it in its entirely. If the full translation has already been done, there doesn't seem to be much point...
Certainly, you should charge hourly in any case. I would ask the client for very clear directives about w
... See more