Paulinho Fonseca  Identity Verified
Brazil
Local time: 16:57
Member (2011)
English to Portuguese
+ ...
Jun 3, 2015

Dear colleagues,

I will really appreciate your help regarding taxes/fees when dealing with payment in India.
I am currently living in Brazil and next month I will start a six-month project in India. In Brazil, I receive payment from overseas clients via Papal and Skrill.
Can you tell me the best legal way to get paid? I mean, using bank wire does not seem to be the best and besides I am still learning about India's bank/government fees/taxes and what I know is that PayPal charges 4.2%.

I want to get the best and fairest deal concerning my money.

Thank you for you time.

Paulinho Fonseca

Direct link Reply with quote

Balasubramaniam L.  Identity Verified
India
Local time: 01:27
Member (2006)
English to Hindi
+ ...
Bank transfer should be ok Jun 3, 2015

India has an efficient and well-regulated banking system and it shouldn't be any trouble sending or receiving payments through bank transfers to or from India.

I have done both and can confirm that the system works without any hitch. Indian banks will charge about Rs. 1000 per wire transfer and there will be minor additional charges as taxes (not exceeding Rs. 100 in all), so, one bank transfer should not cost more than Rs. 1100 at the most (for comparison, this is equal to about 17 USD, much cheaper than what some American and European banks charge).

The money gets send in a couple of days. SWIFT Codes of the receiving bank and Account No of the receiver would be required.

Receiving payment into Indian banks is equally easy and takes about the same amount of time. The charges would depend on the sending party and it could be up to 40 USD.

So bank transfer (for receiving payment in India) should be considered only for larger amount (say more than 500 USD).

Other options are Paypal, Skrill and Western Union.