Newbie questions - Price per word rates and New job posters
Thread poster: Alain Bolduc

Alain Bolduc  Identity Verified
Canada
Local time: 06:04
French to English
+ ...
Oct 26, 2015

I'm new to ProZ.com and the translating business and have the following questions:

1) When billing per word, are word counts typically based on the text in the source or the target language?

2) Looking at the recent postings for my language pairs, I've noticed a few from job posters who don't seem to have offered work in the past and obviously don't have Blue Board ratings because of that. How would you suggest one go about working with these types of clients, if at all, in order to ensure smooth transactions?

I'm sure I'll be back with additional questions, but these are the first two that struck me when considering offers.

This probably goes without saying, but all feedback will be greatly appreciated.

Thank you!

Alain

[Edited at 2015-10-26 03:31 GMT]

[Edited at 2015-10-26 03:31 GMT]

Elif Baykara Narbay  Identity Verified
Turkey
Local time: 13:04
German to Turkish
+ ...
Hello and welcome :) Oct 26, 2015

1) As to my clients, the word counts are mostly based on the source language BUT it should always be clearly stated.

2) BB is an important reference but it is not the only one. It is always worth to inquire using other sources of information. You may look for the news about the potential client. There are other websites dedicated to this topic, e.g. http://paymentpractices.net/

Angela Rimmer  Identity Verified
United Kingdom
Local time: 11:04
Member (2014)
German to English
+ ...
Bonjour! Oct 26, 2015

Welcome, Alain!

1) In your language combination, the prices I usually see are based on the source text. Of course you could decide to charge a different way (per page, per hour, whatever).