How much info do you give out?
Thread poster: MK2010

MK2010  Identity Verified
United States
Local time: 18:49
French to English
+ ...
Nov 6, 2015

An end client I've been working for for a couple of years, who pays me by wire transfer directly into my U.S. bank account, just asked me for the following info to satisfy their bank:

-date of birth
-passport No.

As far as I can tell, age is not relevant to being paid for your services, and it would actually be entirely possible for me NOT to have a passport.

They already have my social security number, address, etc. = all the info they need.

This really irks me. Am I being paranoid or is there just absolutely no way of getting away from Big Brother these days?

If you've had such requests and didn't approve them, how did you handle the situation?

Cheers.

Sheila Wilson  Identity Verified
Spain
Local time: 01:49
Member (2007)
English
+ ...
Their bank? How odd Nov 6, 2015

It seems as though everyone needs everything nowadays. I've certainly never given any information to a client's bank other than my bank details: account name, IBAN, Swift code, bank name, branch address. If a client of mine made this demand I think I would insist on hearing it from the bank directly, in writing. Then I'd do some investigation, starting with my own bank plus similar banks in the client's country. I certainly wouldn't just be a good little girl and comply.

Keep us posted please. I'd be interested to hear the justification.

Jennifer Forbes  Identity Verified
Local time: 01:49
Member (2006)
French to English
+ ...
Polite enquiry Nov 6, 2015

I think the thing to do in this situation - them asking for your date of birth and passport details - is to reply politely asking why they need this information, seeing that they already have your address and bank details and have been paying you regularly.