Thread poster: ARKADIUSZ KACZOROWSKI

ARKADIUSZ KACZOROWSKI  Identity Verified
Poland
Local time: 23:04
Member (2007)
English to Polish
+ ...
Nov 6, 2015

Does anyone know how much an in-house translator can make annually in the US? I was offered a job and was thinking about 70k annually. Is this a reasonable salary in the state of Georgia?

Kevin Fulton  Identity Verified
United States
Local time: 17:04
German to English
$70K in Georgia is unlikely Nov 6, 2015

The average teacher's salary in Georgia is about $53,000/year, maxing to about $61,000 I would be shocked if an in-house salary in Georgia were anything near that.

TDVTrans  Identity Verified
United States
Local time: 17:04
Member (2002)
Dutch to English
+ ...
Not a chance! Nov 6, 2015

I worked as a project manager/in-house translator at an agency in New York some years back and I wasn't even paid close to $70K even with years of experience. I translate in five languages. Being an in-house translator just does not get rewarded enough. You're much better off being a freelance translator.

I highly doubt that in Georgia you would get paid anything close to that amount unless, perhaps, you know several difficult not so common languages. The only way I can see you getting paid that much is perhaps when you're an in-house translator at a law firm because, we all know, that law firms have money or perhaps in a Fortune 500 company.

I hope this was in some way helpful and was not meant to disillusion you.

Tom

ARKADIUSZ KACZOROWSKI  Identity Verified
Poland
Local time: 23:04
Member (2007)
English to Polish
+ ...
TOPIC STARTER
thank you guys for the comments Nov 7, 2015