Less work in the past few months?
Thread poster: Michael Fleischer

Michael Fleischer
United Kingdom
Local time: 16:27
English to German
Nov 9, 2015

Dear Colleagues,

I work as a freelance translator for English, German and Russian, based in the UK, and in the past few months, I have somehow discovered that work has become more scarce. Before that, I could sometimes spend a few weeks working with barely any pause in between, but then something seems to have happened, and the stream of new jobs somehow became thinner. I know for a fact that my clients have been happy with my work, I didn't get any complaints, and even if I had somehow upset someone in some way, this would have been an exception. Also, I haven't increased my prices in a long time, so it couldn't have been that, either.
A person I know working at a translation agency also stated that they have been getting much less work in the past 4-5 months.

Also, I don't believe it's the time of year, as in the past years, I had quite a lot of work regardless of the season.

Could you please share your impression? What is your current work situation?

Thanks a lot,
Michael

VicYas  Identity Verified
Russian Federation
Local time: 18:27
Russian to English
+ ...
Less work in English/Russian and Russian/English Nov 9, 2015

I had almost entirely dead summer, with the flow of orders resuming only in the end of September. In my case the main reason were:
- One regular direct customer started working with an Indian translation agency (lower rates and possibility to pay in local currency via their representation office in India);
- One intermediate for whom I usually translate texts on art, architecture and garden design complains that Russian publishing houses are not interested in this subject matter at the moment;

I also think there are two more reasons that could affect indirectly:
- sanctions that led to suspension or termination of many joint ventures,