Pages in topic:   [1 2] >
How should I value my business for legal purposes?
Thread poster: Wendy Cummings

Wendy Cummings  Identity Verified
United Kingdom
Local time: 06:19
Member (2006)
Spanish to English
+ ...
Nov 18, 2015

I am a sole trader in the UK, and have been working as a freelance translator for 10 years. I work from a home office, and so have no premises or plant to speak of. I have a client portfolio of about 15 regular (monthly) clients, plus about 15 irregular clients. My full client portfolio (every client I have worked for), amounts to over 100. I work almost entirely in Trados and have both termbases and translation memories in French and Spanish, built up over the years.

I am in the process of drafting a prenuptial agreement in advance of my marriage next year. I have been advised to place a value on my business, since this is the value that would get "earmarked" in the event of a divorce.

(e.g.: if the value is now £0, and a divorce judge deems it has increased in value, then I would get only half that increase in value; If I put £10 and a judge deems it has increased to £20, then I would get £10 + £5 (the earmarked lot plus half the increase in value).

How therefore should I go about valuing my business?

Since my clients use my services "intuitu personae", there is no real transferable value to my business. However, I do have a client portfolio and those clients place faith in any other translators who I may recommend. I also have the TMs and TBs, which are arguably of value.

Has anyone been in this same situation?

I would appreciate advice (and please, for the avoidance of doubt, I do not wish to enter into any discussion about the pros or cons of the prenup itself).

Wendy

Jean Lachaud  Identity Verified
United States
Local time: 01:19
English to French
+ ...
Isn't that a question for an accountant?? Nov 18, 2015

Accountants should be perfectly qualified to value a business. Don't they do that every day?

United Kingdom
Member (2006)