Thread poster: jssnowden

jssnowden  Identity Verified
United Kingdom
Local time: 18:05
French to English
+ ...
Dec 13, 2015

Hi all,

Please excuse the ignorance, I am only starting out in the freelance tax world now and it's, as I'm sure you'll all be aware, not the easiest thing to decipher.

My question to you all is when I quote on a £0.## per word price, should I then provide a VAT figure on top of that?

I.e. 3,000 words @ £0.06 = £180 + VAT @20% = £216

Or should I take the VAT into account in the price per word?

As I say, a daft question, but one that I hope you will all agree is quite a fundamental one and useful for any future début freelancers to refer to (I had a nightmare trawling the VAT forum posts).

Many thanks,
Jonny

Direct link Reply with quote

Andrea Halbritter  Identity Verified
France
Local time: 19:05
Member (2014)
French to German
+ ...
Without Dec 13, 2015

Hi!

You provide a word price without VAT as you will not need to charge VAT for every customer depending on in which country you are and in which country your customer is. There are also freelancers who never have to charge VAT, in France e. g. the autoentrepreneurs.

I do tell customers though when I will have to charge VAT. The word price is without though.

Hope, that's clear enough. English is not one of my working languages.

Andrea

Elif Baykara  Identity Verified
Turkey
Local time: 20:05
Member (2015)
German to Turkish
+ ...
Hi! Different rules apply. Dec 13, 2015

Here in Turkey, I need to consider two different types of taxes. A 20% income tax and a 18% VAT.

My unit price includes the income tax by nature (I pay it separately) and I have to charge the VAT separately after I calculate the total sum.

But for my international clients, I am not obliged to pay neither of them (I pay the taxes in another way) so I only charge by the unit price.

It might be beneficial to consult an accountant to spare future issues.

[Edited at 2015-12-13 11:23 GMT]

United Kingdom