Italian translation firm requesting my social security number?
Thread poster: Inspectress

Inspectress
Ireland
Local time: 20:19
English to Irish
+ ...
Dec 26, 2015

Hey all,
I am a freelance translator and for the first time have been asked by a company based in Italy to supply my social security number and address. I have written back to tell them VAT is not applicable as I do not earn above the threshold of 75k.
Should this suffice or can they insist on more from me?
Thanks for any help.

Thayenga  Identity Verified
Germany
Local time: 21:19
Member (2009)
English to German
+ ...
No Dec 26, 2015

Regardless of where an agency or a client might be located, there is absolutely no need (or legal requirement) for you to provide them with your social security number. Ever.

[Edited at 2015-12-26 14:39 GMT]

Sheila Wilson  Identity Verified
Spain
Member (2007)
English
+ ...
Certificate? Dec 26, 2015

Some, perhaps many, countries will provide a cwrtificate declaring that you are up-to-date with your social security and/or tax payments. I have been asked to provide these in the past and both the French and Spanish authorities have obliged.

What would a simple number prove? Nothing, I would imagine! Companies do have to be careful nowadays with cross-border transactions, even within the EU. If not, they can be accused of money-laundering. But many of them don't really know what to do. They ask for all sorts of things they don't need and have no right to.

Tom in London
United Kingdom
Member (2008)
Italian to English
Address Dec 26, 2015

Inspectress wrote:

Hey all,
I am a freelance translator and for the first time have been asked by a company based in Italy to supply my social security number and address. I have written back to tell them VAT is not applicable as I do not earn above the threshold of 75k.
Should this suffice or can they insist on more from me?
Thanks for any help.