Just asked by agency to do a translation for free!
Thread poster: Inspectress

Inspectress
Ireland
Local time: 00:25
English to Irish
+ ...
Jan 7, 2016

Just here for a mini vent! I am relatively new to translation, working freelance for about 6 months now. I am lucky to deal with a couple of excellent companies most of the time but the rest of the time it is just a hassle. I am taking on new agencies though so I guess hassle comes with the territory of finding new clients and recently I did a few short translations for a new agency and accepted small payments for each, thinking they would not continue to inundate me with short translations only and obviously I hoped to potentially get larger assignments from them in the future.

The last translation I did for them was of about 20 words which I agreed to do for 3 euro. I sent it, no issues and then they emailed today and asked me to do another short translation of a few words, and asked me to add it to this fee of 3 euro - basically amounting to no payment at all for this extra work! I emailed them back to tell them I had been making an exception for them up to now had not charged them my minimum fee up to this, and that I could not possibly do this for free. Rather than then making me an offer of some token amount even, they asked me, and in all caps, to do this as a 'final favour' for them. I replied again saying that I could not possibly make a living operating in such a way, and explained to them - what they should know already - about the additional work involved in terms of research, etc. that comes with each translation. They wrote back again saying that there would not be much research involved in this translation of a few words 'after all', and then offered to add 2 euro extra for it.

I have written back to decline! I don't need this lack of respect in my life and forced to haggle for 2 euro.

Thayenga  Identity Verified
Germany
Local time: 01:25
Member (2009)
English to German
+ ...
+ 2 Euros Jan 8, 2016