How do translators get compensated for projects?
Thread poster: FabianPhraseApp

FabianPhraseApp
Germany
Jan 7, 2016

Hi there, my name is Fabian and I am a developer at PhraseApp.com. We are a platform for managing localization of software projects, developed in Hamburg, Germany. Maybe a few of you have already collaborated with some of our clients through out tools in the pasticon_smile.gif

We are currently planning to build a feature that several of our customers have requested in the past: A cost approximation tool for translation projects of our clients that are completed by freelance translators or independent agencies. For example: the developer of a mobile app would like to have it localized completely first and is concerned about ongoing cost for updating translations. We would like to model common compensation structures so they can run calculations to approximate costs. Since the information I found on the topic so far was very diverse I would like to ask here: which compensation models are most common? What are the cost factors that you use to calculate your price? And how do you calculate prices for reviews/proofreading? Also is there any generally accepted guideline for what counts as a word and what does not?

We are looking forward to your input. This feature will make working with independent translators easier for our customers, so we are very keen on your input! Thanks a lot!icon_smile.gif

Susan Welsh  Identity Verified
United States
Local time: 17:34
Member (2008)
Russian to English
+ ...
flawed methodology Jan 8, 2016

You will not get an objective view of what the "common compensation structures" are from a couple of answers from random translators here. That said, my answers to your three specific questions are:
1. My cost of living
2. By hour.