https://www.proz.com/forum/money_matters/296687-dealing_with_bad_faith_clients.html

Dealing with bad-faith clients
Thread poster: GaelleSTW (X)
GaelleSTW (X)
GaelleSTW (X)  Identity Verified
France
Local time: 12:01
English to French
+ ...
Jan 8, 2016

Hi, all!

I am new in the translation industry, and I have some questions I hope you can help me with...
Well, my questions are quite simpe:

- Do you ask for a partial payment when you start working with a new client? I tried to ask many times but the answer is always "No", .....And that doesn't necessarily mean the client is dishonnest because I almost always get my money at the end....But How to manage this? Which guarantee do you use, if you use some? How to a
... See more
Hi, all!

I am new in the translation industry, and I have some questions I hope you can help me with...

- Do you ask for a partial payment when you start working with a new client? I tried to ask many times but the answer is always "No", .....And that doesn't necessarily mean the client is dishonnest because I almost always get my money at the end....But How to manage this? Which guarantee do you use, if you use some? How to avoid being played for a fool ?....

- Second question: when a client doesn't pay you , what can you do? For instance, I did a job for a company which has not been paid and it seems they are not paying people (as I saw many querries and bad comments on their Blueboard) but when they approached me I checked on their Blueboard and it was all good... I tried to send a formal notice by post but they did nit collect it, and the price a lawyer would cost me is much higher than the invoice total.... What do you do in such cases?

Thanks for you help in advance and sorry for my bad english....

Gaëlle

[Edited at 2016-01-08 10:59 GMT]
Collapse

Vadim Kadyrov
Vadim Kadyrov  Identity Verified
Ukraine
Local time: 13:01
English to Russian
+ ...
First, Jan 8, 2016