Pages in topic:   [1 2] >
Working in Germany
Thread poster: Will Kelly

Will Kelly
United Kingdom
Dutch to English
Jan 9, 2016

Hi all,

I’m British, my partner is German. We have two young kids, and we currently live in England. I am a translator (Dutch>English), and I work through my limited company, as a result of which I am able to pay myself and my partner (who works for me as a PA) the most we can pay without incurring a tax liability (c. £20K). Once expenses are deducted, the company pays 20% corporation tax on the profits and the rest I can take out as a dividend. Due to ongoing health issues, I work part time, and so I’m not paying much tax at all. My partner doesn’t currently work as she’ll be a full-time mother for at least another year or so.

We want to move abroad because house prices in the UK are insane. My partner wants to return to Germany. However, talking it through with a German friend of mine, it sounds like a huge chunk of my gross income would disappear. He suggested that I would be in the ‘freiberuflich’ category (broadly: a freelancer), and that 15-16% would go on health insurance, another 2.35% on elderly care insurance, and 18% on state pension (voluntary for people who are freiberuflich, but probably advisable). That’s already 36% of gross income (not net)! I presume there are other expenses – income tax and solidarity money. The question is, how on earth does a translator living in Germany make any money?

I'm also worried that I might have to charge VAT, whereas over in the UK we don't have to register for (and charge) VAT until turnover is somewhere in the region of £75K. Would this make me uncompetitive?

Direct link Reply with quote

Soonthon LUPKITARO(Ph.D.)  Identity Verified
Thailand
Local time: 13:08
Member (2004)
English to Thai
+ ...
My experience Jan 10, 2016

Will Kelly wrote: