Phoenix III  Identity Verified
United States
Local time: 09:59
Member (2013)
Spanish to English
+ ...
Feb 17, 2016

Good morning!

I have very little experience working with European companies but recently I've experienced an increased demand for my rates from EU countries and a severe decrease in projects from local US companies. My problem is two fold: The potential EU clients request prices not only in euros (of course!) but per thousand words and/or pages and I am clueless. On the other hand, I feel I have to consider wire fees or hefty PayPal fees. Last but not least, some insist on receiving copies of recommendations from current clients and I don't want to go that route. I find it somehow invasive and I don't want to disclose who I work for. So far, I've gotten away from this by waving the NDA flag but with Europe it doesn't seem to work. Thanks for your input!

Direct link Reply with quote

Thomas T. Frost  Identity Verified
Member (2014)
French to Danish
+ ...
Not really common for Europe Feb 17, 2016

A few comments:

"Per thousand words" should not cause any problems. You move the decimal point three places. It's mostly in the UK they do that, I think.

"Per page" is not a measure I can handle either. You can stuff thousands of words onto one page if you want. I need to know the word count. A word price is the most common.

As for transfers, you should have a look at TransferWise, which shouldn't cost more than 1 % in fees, whereas PayPal happily relieves you of up to 8 % of your earnings.

Recommendations are just something I can't and won't give so if they insist and my Pro status and WWA are not enough, no deal. It's not the most common to ask for this, though.