Sandrine Pantel  Identity Verified
France
Local time: 07:27
Member (2015)
German to French
+ ...
Apr 13, 2016

Hello,

I work as an independent translator since late 2013 (EN>FR and DE>FR) and I have the greatest difficulty to find translation agencies willing to pay at least 0.10€/source word (which I find reasonable for someone with 5 years of studies, professional experience since 2009, 4 years working experience in Germany, 2 years experience as a translator and many references).

If someone is ready to communicate me, via private message, a short list of German, Swiss, Austrian and British agencies paying at least the price mentionned above and with reasonable terms of payment, I thank him/her a lot in advance

Direct link Reply with quote

The Misha
Local time: 01:27
Russian to English
+ ...
You don't need a "short list of agencies". You need a mindset change. Apr 13, 2016

Sandrine Pantel wrote:

which I find reasonable for someone with 5 years of studies, professional experience since 2009, 4 years working experience in Germany, 2 years experience as a translator and many references).

Guess what all of this entitles you to: nothing. It is very much like the owner of the corner bodega saying that since he went into all that trouble and expense of opening the said bodega, he should now be entitled to selling a certain number of gallon jugs of milk a day, and could someone please give him a list of "good" customers willing to pay, say, $5 per jug (he "finds it reasonable") rather than $2.50 that the nearest superstore has it at. It just doesn't work this way. The sooner you realize that, the better off you will be. Or you could go work for someone instead, as an employee. Unfortunately, there is no middle ground here.

philgoddard
United States
Member (2009)
German to English
+ ...
I think that's possibly a little optimistic... Apr 13, 2016