Thread poster: MarcoGabrieli

MarcoGabrieli
Italy
Local time: 20:05
English to Italian
+ ...
Apr 15, 2016

Hi translators,

I am new to this interesting website. I want to ask the all of you some questions about the factors you usually consider so as to estabish and propose a challenging price of a translation to the client. Everyone (perhaps) knows that there are different ways to give a price, depending on the type of the text to be translated, its technical difficulty, the client, the delivery time and so on.

1) Any other factors to take into account to etablish the price?

2) Do you normally translate per word, per unit (cartella), per line?

3) for example, I have been giving a 2 page-long document recently and I have established this price:

2 pages
522 words
3801 characters (spaces included)
9 paragraphs
60 lines

Number of cartelle: 2,5 (number of characters including the spaces ÷ 1500)

The price per cartella = 20 Euros

The final price of the translation: 50 Euros

Do you agree?

Thanks

Marco Gabrieli

Sheila Wilson  Identity Verified
Spain
Local time: 19:05
Member (2007)
English
+ ...
How long will it take you? Apr 18, 2016

MarcoGabrieli wrote:
I have been giving a 2 page-long document recently and I have established this price:

50 Euros

Your profile says that your desired rate per hour is EUR 70. So, if you can do this translation in 45 minutes, it's worth your while. If it takes longer, then you've quoted too low.

I don't think it matters a jot how you quote. I've never used pages as it isn't common in my pair, although I believe it is in Italian. Personally, I'd happily quote per occurrence of the letter "e" if I knew of a rate per "e" that would be fair to both the client and myself. What's important is how much you quote - but I'm sure you know thaticon_smile.gif.