International Translation Day 2017

Join ProZ.com/TV for a FREE event on September 26-27th celebrating International Translation Day! 50+ hours of content, Chat, Live Q&A & more. Join 1,000's of linguists from around the globe as ProZ.com/TV celebrates International Translation Day.

Click for Full Participation

What to do when you are not paid by the company after the translation?
Thread poster: amela interpret
amela interpret
Albania
Local time: 13:35
Albanian to English
+ ...
Sep 9, 2016

I am new in ProZ, but I wanted to take your opinions. In case you finish a translation and you are not paid for it, what happens? Can you complain somewhere?

Thanks for your time.
Amela

Direct link Reply with quote

Sheila Wilson  Identity Verified
Spain
Local time: 12:35
Member (2007)
English
+ ...
You don't complain; you chase Sep 10, 2016

amela interpret wrote:
In case you finish a translation and you are not paid for it, what happens? Can you complain somewhere?

Normally there's a whole load of things that you can and should do. Your payment escalation procedures must kick in. You should have a whole series of measures to try to get the client to pay. Obviously sometimes you have to accept that it isn't going to happen - particularly if they company has ceased trading - but that should be extremely rare.

At some point in those escalation procedures, you should warn your peers that this company is not a good one to collaborate with, in your experience. The Blue Board here on ProZ.com is an ideal place for that, and there are some similar ones around the web.