Anna Fredén  Identity Verified
Sweden
Local time: 12:15
Member (2016)
French to Swedish
+ ...
Oct 6, 2016

Any Swedish subtitlers out there?

I'm a Swedish translator who would like to get into subtitling, and I'm wondering about the going rates at the moment from, say, a language like English (or any other that you have experience from)?

I've understood that subtitling can be divided into a translation part and a time coding part, so please mention if your rates are for the whole process or just a part of it. If you're also asked to create the transcription, how much do you charge for that?

Yes, I've read the newspaper articles about subtitling being poorly paid in Sweden, and still I want to give it a go, because I think it seems like fun Not if I'm really only going to be paid peanuts, though...

Direct link Reply with quote

Max Deryagin  Identity Verified
Russian Federation
Local time: 15:15
Member (2013)
English to Russian
You've understood wrong Oct 6, 2016

Subtitling is much more than a mere sum of translation and timecoding, and before starting offering this service, you'd need to get proper training.

From what I know, professional Swedish subtitlers work for around 15 euros per programme minute.

[Edited at 2016-10-06 13:29 GMT]

Sweden
Member (2016)
French to Swedish
+ ...
TOPIC STARTER
Training resources Oct 6, 2016

Thanks for your reply, Max. Comparing to what I read elsewhere on rates from a few years back or into other languages, 15€ sounds relatively high, so that's good news. I suppose it would be lower for someone just starting out, though.