Thread poster: Rina LS

Rina LS  Identity Verified
Serbia
Local time: 07:47
English to Serbian
+ ...
May 3, 2005

Dear colleagues,

I would truly appreciate it if someone could help me.
Well, as a freelance translator (with no own company), I have never had to specify any ID in my invoices. I just have had to specify my account number and SWIFT code for money transfer via bank transfer. Now, after three corrected invoices (due to lack of invoicing instructions/invoicing practice info provided by the agency for which I did several projects) my invoice had been accepted. However, a few hours later, I got the message that my invoice "could not be accepted because of formal shortcomings, such as your (my)missing ID". Does anyone have any idea if this is a trick or something, just to postpone their duties/payment for services I provided. I must emphasize that I am a translator over 12 years, and have never had such an experience. Would you be kind to share your experience with me that could be helpful to me? What kind of ID should I provide when it is obvious that I cannot provide my company ID. Thanks for your suggestions and comments.
Rina

Direct link Reply with quote

Daniela Gardini
Italy
English to German
+ ...
Why don't you ask the agency ? May 3, 2005

May I suggest, that you ask the agency directly what kind of ID they need. Depending on the country of residence this ID could be the VAT Number or a term for new bank transfer codes or any other item their databank requests.

Good luck
Daniela

xxxBrandis
English to German
+ ...
VAT ID probably May 3, 2005

Hi! You should ask the outsourcer, whether he/ she means Tax number or VAT Id.
Rgds,
Brandis

[Edited at 2005-05-03 06:52]

Christopher RH
French to English
The agency may need proof you are not an employee May 3, 2005