Request for help on agency pricing: meaning of mots nets versus nombre d'analogies?
Thread poster: seletti

seletti
France
Local time: 19:49
Member (2017)
French to English
Jan 11

Hello
An I just negotiated a price with an agency to do a 50 000 word French to English translation. My contact agreed to a rate of 0.09 centimes for a highly technical aeronautics-related translation. I'm a very experienced translator (around 20 years) but don't usually work with agencies. The commercial department just sent me the following Bon de commande, with only part of the translation listed at 0.09 centimes. I would appreciate it if someone can explain what they are proposing. Until now, I have not worked with trados or wordfast, but told the agency I would get it. This is their price: Nombre de pages à traduire : 178
Votre logiciel : Word Format d'enregistrement : .doc
Consignes : Nombre de mots nets : 17595 à 0,09€ HT le mot source
Nombre d'analogies : 11942 à 0,03€ HT le mot source
Nombre de répétitions : 2608 à 0,009€ HT le mot source
Accès Export de mémoire : Ok
Livraison : Fichiers cibles + Fichiers bilingues
Tarif : 1965€ HT
The deadline is one month from now..
Thanks for any input

Direct link Reply with quote

writeaway  Identity Verified
French to English
+ ...
Looks like the usual CAT discounts agencies unilaterally impose on translators Jan 11

I don't use a CAT tool and refuse to accept these discounts agencies love to impose (it's one of the main reasons why THEY acquire CAT tools after all). Imo it's probably something like 'fuzzy matches', whatever that means in the real world. Any excuse to impose a lower rate is a good one (for agencies). I only allow discounts for 100% copy/paste repeats that I don't have to look at or otherwise touch. But I've always been willing to do that, long before the CAT tool invasion.
Hopefully you will also hear from colleagues who actually know about CAT tools and how agencies use them to drive down rates they pay to translators.