Rate per no-match word
Thread poster: abiggers

abiggers
Local time: 05:19
English to French
May 20, 2005

Hi all,

I am a new translator.
I received a job offer for the translation of 3500 words.
The company is offering me 3 cents less per word than my published rate. They also specified that I would only be paid for no-match words.
What do you suggest I do?

Thank you,

Amal

Direct link Reply with quote

Derek Gill Franßen  Identity Verified
Germany
Local time: 11:19
German to English
+ ...
Start negotiating... May 20, 2005

CAT rates have probably been dealt with many times, so I would suggesting searching the forums.

Them wanting to pay you three cents less than your published rates seems like normal negotiating to me (unless your rates are already low - I haven't checked). If you don't like the idea, then negotiate a better rate with them or not - then you probably won't get the assignment.

As far as them only wanting to pay for non-matches, this seems completely out of line. It's not like you don't have to do anything if there are matches - you still have to make sure that it is correct.

Something like the following scheme for CAT-rates seems fair to me(though individual agencies may differ slightly):

100% match - 30% of my normal word/line price
85% - 99%: 50% of my normal price
70% - 84%: 75% of my normal price
below 70%: 100% of my normal price

I myself would refuse to do the translation on the terms you describe. On the other hand, you say that you are new to the business, so poorly paid work may be better than no work at all...

Good luck!

[Edited at 2005-05-20 15:45]

xxxBrandis
English to German
+ ...
There are various calculations May 20, 2005

Hi! but what Gill said was right. I charge for new words 125% of the base price.
Rgds,
Brandis

Hepburn  Identity Verified
France
English to French
+ ...
Yield a little but not entirely... May 20, 2005