Thread poster: Jasna Čakarun

Jasna Čakarun
Spain
Local time: 12:13
English to Slovenian
+ ...
Jul 6

Hello all,

I am a translator doing regular work with the largest translation company based in the US. They pay in USD only; however, I am based in Spain and use euros (likewise, I do not have a US account or acquaintances in the US to help me out).
The problem is that I do quite a lot of work for them, and the combination of exchange rates, bank fees, agency fees and PayPal Merchant rates is taking an unreasonably large chunk out of my earnings. I factored this in before starting business, but the current numbers are way, way too high.

Is anyone in the same boat by any chance, or used to be and has some valuable advice?

It occurred to me to check if anyone is paid in euros but wants dollars and then operate through an escrow service, but I am obviously less inclined to get strangers involved.

But, again, desperate times.

Many thanks in advance for everyone's help, I appreciate your advice.

All the best!

James Heppe-Smith  Identity Verified
Germany
Member (2010)
German to English

Moderator of this forum
Possible service Jul 6

I was quite impressed with the service provided by Transferwise. They offer you USD, GBP and Euro accounts with account details in Germany, UK and USA to allow you to accept the various currencies. They do charge fees to transfer the money / withdraw it, but I think this is much less than those charged by PayPal.

There are other similar service providers out there, but Transferwise is the only one I have any direct personal knowledge of.

Edit to add: They also now offer a Mastercard debit card which you can use to access the funds on your account. Again, not checked it out, but seems to be free to get.

Hope this helps,
James

[Edited at 2018-07-06 10:08 GMT]

Christophe Delaunay  Identity Verified
Italy
Spanish to French
+ ...
Have you ever thought... Jul 6