Major LSP payment process: all payments made AFTER invoice due date
Thread poster: Andrei Sommer

Andrei Sommer  Identity Verified
Romania
Local time: 05:56
English to Romanian
+ ...
Nov 28, 2018

I realised recently that a major LSP I've been working with for many years has made it its official practice to pay invoices AFTER their due date. I should add that standard payment term is 60 days, but that can be negotiated down, as I eventually found out. I'm not sure if the issue has come up before in these forums, and I don't know if I can mention their name, but I'm curious if anyone else has had a similar experience with a large (still public?) LSP.

[Edited at 2018-11-28 23:04 GMT]

Philippe Etienne  Identity Verified
Spain
Local time: 04:56
English to French
What did you expect? Nov 29, 2018

It's a "major LSP".

Philippe

Teresa Borges

Sheila Wilson  Identity Verified
Spain
Local time: 03:56
Member (2007)
English
+ ...
It doesn't surprise me in the least Nov 29, 2018

Andrei Sommer wrote:
I realised recently that a major LSP I've been working with for many years has made it its official practice to pay invoices AFTER their due date. I should add that standard payment term is 60 days

I sacked all those dreadful "major" LSPs a long while ago. Early experiences were all awful. I only ever had one positive experience with an enormous one and that company eventually got to squeezing so much (truly fascinating) work out of me for so little reward that I reluctantly had to fire them. The HR departments of the others were often as far as I got, as they expected me to sign multi-page and lop-sided contracts, spend time doing totally irrelevant tests, and fill in lengthy forms, all the while refusing to actually confirm they had work at my rates and on my conditions (or at least ones I could work with). Nowadays, if I get contacted by a company that I don't recognise as "one of them", I'm quick to react to that sort of nonsense and shout "STOP!".