https://www.proz.com/forum/money_matters/331136-consequences_of_%22no_deal%22_brexit_for_freelance_translators_in_the_uk.html

Pages in topic:   [1 2 3] >
Consequences of "no deal" Brexit for freelance translators in the UK?
Thread poster: Samuel Espinho-Alves
Samuel Espinho-Alves
Samuel Espinho-Alves  Identity Verified
Belgium
Local time: 20:00
English to French
Dec 12, 2018

Hi everyone,

I have found an older post about this topic but it didn't seem to answer my question so I took the liberty of posting a new one.

I am a freelance translator currently living in Belgium. Due specific circumstances, I might be moving to the UK sometime in Summer of 2019. My clients being mostly Europeans, I would have to invoice people outside of the UK. Due to this, I have started looking into the consequences of Brexit on the Services industry but what I fo
... See more
Hi everyone,

I have found an older post about this topic but it didn't seem to answer my question so I took the liberty of posting a new one.

I am a freelance translator currently living in Belgium. Due specific circumstances, I might be moving to the UK sometime in Summer of 2019. My clients being mostly Europeans, I would have to invoice people outside of the UK. Due to this, I have started looking into the consequences of Brexit on the Services industry but what I found was not very clear.
I would like to make an informed decision about this move so I am trying to figure out what the worst case scenario would be for people in the industry when translating for Europeans, especially when it comes to income and taxes.

In the case of a no-deal Brexit, The default framework for International Trade will be that of the WTO, England will be considered as a "third country" when it comes to trading. Does anyone know the specifics of this particular situation for the industry? I assume VAT will become a thing and that translators will (finally) be required to register for VAT?

Thanks

[Edited at 2018-12-12 11:25 GMT]