https://www.proz.com/forum/money_matters/33304-literary_translation_rates_how_low_do_i_go.html

Pages in topic:   [1 2] >
Literary translation rates - how low do i go?
Thread poster: Wendy Cummings
Wendy Cummings
Wendy Cummings  Identity Verified
United Kingdom
Local time: 05:48
Spanish to English
+ ...
Jun 12, 2005

Firstly, my heartfelt thanks to Proz and all its members. I have used these forums so much recently, and they have been of such help.

I would very much appreciate some advice on quite a specific money matter.

I am quite new to translating, although I have done paid work on and off for a couple of years now. I recently received an offer to translate a novel of 40,000 words(potentially the first of four Ru>En). I explained that I am not a literary translator, but the auth
... See more
Firstly, my heartfelt thanks to Proz and all its members. I have used these forums so much recently, and they have been of such help.

I would very much appreciate some advice on quite a specific money matter.

I am quite new to translating, although I have done paid work on and off for a couple of years now. I recently received an offer to translate a novel of 40,000 words(potentially the first of four Ru>En). I explained that I am not a literary translator, but the author was very happy with my test piece and asked for a quote anyway. Not having done any work on this scale before, and really not sure what is a going rate for literary, I quoted £3,000.

She has just come back to me and said the other quotes she has received are £770, £1600 and £2000, and would I therefore agree to cut my rates?

I am now very unsure what to do. I have no desire to undervalue my work, but nevertheless I would love this opportunity to be involved in a large project of this nature.