Pages in topic:   [1 2] >
VAT No. necessary?
Thread poster: eva75

eva75
English
+ ...
Jul 16, 2005

A prospective client of mine in Germany requires a VAT no., as this is required by EU regulations. I was hoping that a VAT number would not be necessary as I am only starting out and don't want the hassle of hiring an accountant to do my books or registering for VAT.

Is there any way around this? Is it normal practice for translation agencies to ask for VAT numbers and why?

By the way, I am not resident in Germany.

Any help would be much appreciated.

[Edited at 2005-07-16 20:02]

Direct link Reply with quote

Ralf Lemster  Identity Verified
Germany
Local time: 19:33
English to German
+ ...
Not necessarily... Jul 16, 2005

...but IMO this is impossible to answer without knowing your background, in particular your country of residence.

You don't need an accountant or tax advisor to register for VAT - although I would argue that it is more efficient to use a professional than to try and do all that yourself. (This includes the decision as to whether it might, in fact, be advantageous to register for VAT straight from the beginning.)

A VAT ID is not 'some EU requirement', but under EU regulations you must provide a tax number or VAT ID on your invoices.

Unfortunately, knowing that you're not resident in Germany is not nearly enough.

Best regards,
Ralf

Burkhard Ziegler  Identity Verified
Germany
Russian to German
+ ...
At least a fiscal ID number for entrepreneurs is necessary on invoices to agencies and final custome Jul 16, 2005

eva75 wrote:

A prospective client of mine in Germany requires a VAT no., as this is a some EU requirement.

Hi Eva!

I wouldn't consider requiring a VAT no. as a requirement but very useful.

At any rate, you should state a fiscal ID number.

Where are you fiscal resident? (On this depends a lot.)

If in EU or European economical space a VAT Id is worth having at any rate.