Alexandra Duckitt  Identity Verified
United Kingdom
Local time: 12:00
Member (2005)
German to English
+ ...
Aug 22, 2005

Hello!

As a relative newbie I'm looking for some guidance as regards quotations to agencies. In ballpark terms what percentage of their "normal" (i.e. direct-to-the-customer) rate do freelancers charge to agencies?

Many thanks!

Direct link Reply with quote

Astrid Elke Witte  Identity Verified
Germany
Local time: 13:00
Member (2002)
German to English
+ ...
You will have to do your own research Aug 22, 2005

Hi Alexandra,

In general, you will have to do your own research, by looking at web sites of agencies for any clues.

As a rule of thumb, agencies will (reluctantly) pay you an absolute maximum of half of what they charge the customer. However, you (being an individual, not an agency) cannot charge your direct customers what they charge theirs. You might possibly squeeze out of your direct customers about 2 cents per word more than the agencies pay you - but you will really have to stand your ground in order to get even that.

The only power you will ever gain, to be paid more by anybody (agencies or direct clients), is if you build up a reputation for reliable work - and that takes time.

Astrid

United Kingdom
Member (2005)
German to English
+ ...
TOPIC STARTER
Thanks Aug 22, 2005

Thank you for your advice!

Surtees
Spanish to English
+ ...
75% Aug 22, 2005

Hi Alexandra!

As Astrid says, it varies widely and is essentially a question of supply and demand (i.e. how much do you want/need the work, how much is the agency prepared/able to pay, taking factors such as reliability and quality of translator into account, etc.).

Having made that proviso, however, I can tell you that my 'agency rate' is around 75% of the rate I charge direct clients and I would be loathe to accept anything lower than that.

Hope that's of some help.

xxxMarc P  Identity Verified
German to English
+ ...
Quotations to Agencies Aug 22, 2005