payment in U.S. for a U.S. translator in France???
Thread poster: Sara Freitas
Sara Freitas
Sara Freitas
France
Local time: 19:38
French to English
Jun 27, 2002

I am a US citizen residing in France. I have recently been offered a job through an agency in the U.S. Does anyone out there know about the legality and tax procedures/consequences of having the agency pay me directly into a U.S. account? I am sure it is more financially benefical than being paid in France...but is it legal?

Also, if billing a US customer in France, does the VAT apply? Thanks in advance for your advice!!

jccantrell
jccantrell  Identity Verified
United States
Local time: 11:38
Member (2005)
German to English
tax consequences Jun 28, 2002

I am not a tax expert, but when I was living overseas, the IRS REQUIRED that you fill out the form EVERY year. Of course, you got a credit for living outside the USA and, if you lived in a high-tax country, you could offset the taxes paid in the country against what the IRS figured you owed to the USA.

Seen from this perspective, the only advantage to being paid in the USA is that you need not convert the currency. You STILL have to declare it, probably both in the USA AND F
... See more
I am not a tax expert, but when I was living overseas, the IRS REQUIRED that you fill out the form EVERY year. Of course, you got a credit for living outside the USA and, if you lived in a high-tax country, you could offset the taxes paid in the country against what the IRS figured you owed to the USA.

Seen from this perspective, the only advantage to being paid in the USA is that you need not convert the currency. You STILL have to declare it, probably both in the USA AND France.

To be certain, I would call the nearest big American embassy and ask to speak with the IRS representative.

Good luck!
Collapse

Sara Freitas
Sara Freitas
France
French to English
TOPIC STARTER
US freelancers...how do you account for payments?? Jun 29, 2002