Im a newbie..got registered but have no clue how to start
Thread poster: meeta_fp
meeta_fp
Local time: 00:40
French to English
+ ...
Oct 13, 2005

hey, im a newbie from india. im into translating german to english and french to english.
im want to do these translation jobs for some extra income. can sum1 please help me with the entire procedure and rates. i dont know anything how these sites work. please help how to go about it. thank you.

Direct link Reply with quote

Haiyang Ai  Identity Verified
United States
Local time: 14:10
English to Chinese
+ ...
Forum Oct 13, 2005

Just spend time to read the posts in the forum. There's a lot to learn.

xxxMarc P  Identity Verified
Local time: 21:10
German to English
+ ...
Im a newbie..got registered but have no clue how to start Oct 13, 2005

Haiyang wrote:

In my not particularly humble opinion: translation is a skilled profession, and not a little earner on the side for people who are "into it". It is also, despite the wealth of information available on this site, not something that can be learnt by browsing the ProZ fora.

My advice would be: leave it to the professionals, or become one yourself.

Marc

amiclea
Local time: 22:10
English to Romanian
+ ...
come on, now! Oct 13, 2005

MarcPrior wrote:

Haiyang wrote:

In my not particularly humble opinion: translation is a skilled profession, and not a little earner on the side for people who are "into it". It is also, despite the wealth of information available on this site, not something that can be learnt by browsing the ProZ fora.

Marc

Marc, you may be a professional translator since 1988, but I seriously doubt it that you were born that. Or were you?
And my best guess is that you did a little learning before you got "pro". So why not let others learn as well? Afraid they'd get in with rates lower than yours? If you're the pro you claim to be, the quality of your work will keep you on top, right?