Pages in topic:   [1 2] >
Raising rates with existing clients
Thread poster: Marie-Hélène Hayles

Marie-Hélène Hayles  Identity Verified
Local time: 21:15
Italian to English
+ ...
Nov 28, 2005

I've been translating full-time for getting on for three years now, and still do regular work for some agencies at the rate I agreed with them at the beginning. Now I have no problem in setting a (higher) rate when a new agency contacts me, but am ridiculously "embarassed" at the idea of sending out an email to existing clients telling them my rates are going up. How would you go about it? How have you gone about it? What response did you receive?

I'm thinking of sending an email saying something along the lines of "due to the rising cost of living, from January 1st my rate will be xxx".

I know my embarassment is daft, I put it down to my British upbringing!

[Edited at 2005-11-28 15:13]

Direct link Reply with quote

Maria Antonietta Ricagno  Identity Verified
English to Italian
+ ...
Rates Nov 28, 2005

Hi

I use this method: on January 1rst I send out an e-mail explaining that starting from that date my rates will increase to the amount established.
I have done it about 3 times with long-established customers, and they did not object anything to the change, due to the small rise in my rate and also because they already had an established working relationship with me.
The best thing happens with a wonderful customer I have been knowing since 2001: every now and then he sends me an e-mail explaining that he decided to raise my rate 'if I agree'!

Regards

Antonella

Stephanie Wloch  Identity Verified
Germany
Member (2003)
Dutch to German
Rising cost - market value of quality work Nov 28, 2005

"due to the rising cost of living, from January 1st my rate will be xxx".
Yes, this is a good reason, of course! You can add that you also invested in education, advanced (additional) equipment etc.
If some irregular clients contact me after a while (say 1-2 year) I