Debt collection procedure in Switzerland
Thread poster: Anita Cassidy

Anita Cassidy  Identity Verified
United Kingdom
Member (2005)
English to German
Jan 11, 2006

Hello everyone,

It looks like one of my customers (a Swiss-based agency) is ignoring my payment requests. So far, payment is not massively overdue (invoice issued in early December, terms 30 days), but they have gone quiet on me and haven't even acknowledged receipt of my translation, invoice and recent (friendly) payment reminder by e-mail. It was my first job for them.

Just to be prepared: Does anyone have debt collection experience in Switzerland? What is the best way of going about this - is there an official (court) procedure, or should I contact a debt collection agency if worst comes to worst?

Thanks in advance for all your help!
Anita

Direct link Reply with quote

LuciaC
United Kingdom
Local time: 20:51
English to Italian
+ ...
Betreibungsamt Jan 12, 2006

I have no direct experience but you should enquire at the Betreibungsamt/Office des poursuites of the Canton. Here is an example for Freiburg, with texts also in English:

http://appl.fr.ch/opf/procedures/procedurede/default_procedure_de.htm

I think you should ask for a Zahlungsbefehl.

Someone told me (but maybe our Swiss colleagues could confirm whether this is true?) that if a company has a procedure started against them, they will have a hard time applying for credit in the future. Therefore, I believe that threatening them with such a procedure might just do the trick.

Best wishes,
Lucia

Anita Cassidy  Identity Verified
United Kingdom
Member (2005)
English to German
TOPIC STARTER
thank you! Jan 20, 2006

Hi Lucia,

Thanks a lot for your reply and the tip! Let's hope I don't have to go through with it...

Best wishes,
Anita

ibz  Identity Verified
Local time: 21:51
Member (2007)
English to German
+ ...
Check the following website Jan 24, 2006

Hi Anita,