question on price per word
Thread poster: eva75
eva75
eva75
English
+ ...
Feb 6, 2006

I'm a freelance translator based in Europe and have been asked to translate a short, general and non-complicated text for 8 cent per word for an agency. Is this a fair price? How much more could one earn working for the client directly?

Marc P (X)
Marc P (X)  Identity Verified
Local time: 11:16
German to English
+ ...
question on price per word Feb 6, 2006

Check out the surveys of translators' fees, e.g. the one published by the ITI at www.iti.org.uk.

Marc

Philip Taylor
Philip Taylor  Identity Verified
Local time: 10:16
French to English
lowish but reasonable rate Feb 6, 2006

The short answer, if you're in a hurry to reply to the offer, is that the rate is a little lower than you should probably seek to set your standard rate, but not entirely unreasonable, in my view - and a good bit higher than for many of the jobs offered here on proz.com! Particularly if it is, as you say, a short and non-technical piece, and if you have nothing else currently on offer at a higher rate, I'd recommend you take the job on and then see for yourself whether you think it's worth accep... See more
The short answer, if you're in a hurry to reply to the offer, is that the rate is a little lower than you should probably seek to set your standard rate, but not entirely unreasonable, in my view - and a good bit higher than for many of the jobs offered here on proz.com! Particularly if it is, as you say, a short and non-technical piece, and if you have nothing else currently on offer at a higher rate, I'd recommend you take the job on and then see for yourself whether you think it's worth accepting further work at the same rate.Collapse

JaneTranslates
JaneTranslates  Identity Verified
Puerto Rico
Local time: 06:16
Spanish to English
+ ...
Take it! Feb 6, 2006