Dr. Andrew Frankland  Identity Verified
Spain
Local time: 18:23
Member (2007)
English
+ ...
Mar 13, 2006

Dear All,

I've been freelancing in Spain for almost three years now and have recently discovered that money paid into my account with ING Direct (Cuenta Naranja) doesn't incur transfer fees. I used to use an acocunt with Caja Madrid and, seen as my main client is based in Germany, I was charged around 6 Euros in transfer fees for every invoice, even though both countries use the Euro. I've since started having the money transferred to my ING account and there are no fees, which saves me almost 300 Euros a year.

Apologies if this topic has already been discussed.

Direct link Reply with quote

Parrot  Identity Verified
Spain
Member (2002)
Spanish to English
+ ...
No commissions with most commercial banks Mar 13, 2006

I don't know if the answer there is the distinction between a savings and a commercial bank, but I think you'd be in your rights to ask for an explanation from Caja Madrid.

As I recall, the Bank of Spain already ruled against this practice, and as far as I know, commercial banks observe this ruling.

Possibly helpful link (with complaints option):

http://www.bde.es/homee.htm

[Edited at 2006-03-13 11:41]

Woodstock  Identity Verified
Germany
German to English
+ ...
No transfer fees for EUR transactions within the EU Mar 13, 2006

This is my understanding of the EU regulations: No banks should charge fees for transfers in euro between EU countries. If this applies to all banks, yours has been taking you for a ride. Demand your money back. I really dislike German banks, they are all crooks, out to wipe the floor with you. Maybe they're the same in Spain? US banks are much more customer-friendly and helpful. My experience is that they bend over backward to be helpful. German banks often act as if they're doing you a favor by taking your money! Unbelievable: After all, who pays their salaries!?!

Anjo Sterringa  Identity Verified
Spain
Member (2003)