Invoice & Rates
Thread poster: isoyo
isoyo  Identity Verified
Local time: 11:49
English to Japanese
Apr 11, 2006

Hi, all. I'm a newbie here, so I'd really appreciate if you could gimme some advice regarding invoice & rates!!

In an invoice, what are the least things you have to put? And how should it look like? If you could provide me some info with a sample, grrrrrreate!

Do you have to reduce your regular rates depending on number & percentages of word-matching because clients tell me that I've worked on similar documents so I can use the TM, which means, they insist I technically don't have to translate.
For example, 100%match is 70% off, and so on.

Thanks,
isoyo

Direct link Reply with quote

Ralf Lemster  Identity Verified
Germany
Local time: 04:49
English to German
+ ...
Forum search Apr 11, 2006

Hi isoyo,
Welcome to ProZ.com, and to the forum.

In an invoice, what are the least things you have to put? And how should it look like? If you could provide me some info with a sample, grrrrrreate!

This differs according to market practice, legal requirements (predominantly under tax laws), and customer requirements.

The issue has been covered in numerous past discussions; you may want to use the forum search.

Do you have to reduce your regular rates depending on number & percentages of word-matching because clients tell me that I've worked on similar documents so I can use the TM, which means, they insist I technically don't have to translate.
For example, 100%match is 70% off, and so on.

This is also an issue that is discussed on a regular (and recurring) basis. Thing is, you don't have to do anything - you're running an independent business, so it's you setting the terms for the service you provide. But this also means you will have to figure out how much efficiency gains you have, and how much of this you're prepared to pass on to your customer. You can search past discussions for guidance, but ultimately, you will need to decide for yourself.