Question on etiquette
Thread poster: babs guzman
babs guzman  Identity Verified
Local time: 06:33
French to English
May 23, 2006

Hi,
I'm new to this forum. I've been a freelance translator for 10 years and have worked mainly for Canadian and American clients - and I've been fortunate not to have any major problems. Some American clients send me a PO to confirm job, others do so by email. This is my first European client (France); they have good ratings in the Blue Board. But I want to know if it is standard practice to request a PO or contract. Also, is it ethical to ask when I could expect payment and if they do payments by PayPal. I sent my invoice but they did not acknowledge my invoice. They did however give me 4 additional jobs - which I'm happy to do but I'd like to ask them how and when I can expect payment. Does anyone have an opinion? They are a legitimate outfit, and like I said they got excellent reviews on the Blue Board.
Thanks in advance for anyone's opinion(s).

Direct link Reply with quote

xxxsarahl
Local time: 03:33
English to French
+ ...
Business etiquette May 23, 2006

As far as I know, POs are not that common in France. However, you are free to request one if that's the way you work, and you may want to have a template ready in case your customer doesn't have one.

Regarding payment, feel free to ask them. The PM or the accountant should have an answer to that.

good luck!

Sarah

Charlotte Langbeen  Identity Verified
United States
Member (2002)
English to Danish
+ ...
PO is normal .... May 23, 2006

I always request a PO or a even just a PO number in an e-mail stating the rate we have agreed upon, the deadline etc. When I send my invoices (as an e-mail attachment) I always write: "If you could confirm with me that you have received the invoice, that would be great." Many of my clients pay after 60 days (even if it says 30 days on their paperwork). Some take longer and the good ones shorter.

TIPS FROM: AVOID-LATE-PAYMENT (see link below):