Laura Morarelli
Italy
Local time: 20:33
English to Italian
+ ...
Jul 14, 2006

Hallo everybody,

Hallo

I just need information from the translators that have a longer experience than me.
I used to work as a translator for a company based in the UK and I got a NI number. They dealt with payments to the Inland Revenue. I don't work for them any longer and at the moment I work sometimes for agencies and I usually prepare an invoice (even if I don't have a VAT number) and they pay me in my UK bank account.
I just wanted to ask you which is the normal procedure, do translation agencies usually pay for the taxes themselves (like here in Italy - ritenuta d'acconto) or do I have to pay for them?
Does anybody know if there's a non-taxable minimum amount?

Thanks a lot for your help

Laura

Direct link Reply with quote

Laura Morarelli
Italy
Local time: 20:33
English to Italian
+ ...
TOPIC STARTER
more precisely ... Jul 14, 2006

I meant to say "non-taxable minimum income per year".

Thanks

KNSteffensen
Japan
Local time: 03:33
Danish to English
+ ...
Liability for taxes in the UK Jul 14, 2006

I doubt that you are liable to pay tax and National Insurance in the UK if you are not resident in the country. I believe that you should instead declare your income from UK clients in your country of residence and pay tax and VAT on it there. You do, however, mention that you receive payments into a UK bank account. In that case you may be considered resident in the UK for tax purposes. Your case sounds ambiguous and I suggest that you consult with an accountant or tax adviser, with HM Revenue and Customs (http://www.hmrc.gov.uk/), or with the relevant Italian authority.

As a freelancer in the UK you would normally pay your taxes yourself. If you earn less than £ 61,000 per annum you do not have to register for VAT.

Your tax-free allowance is £ 5,035 in the current tax year. It was £ 4,895 for the 2005-2006 tax year. The first 5,035 you earn should therefore not be taxed.