Phong Le
Phong Le  Identity Verified
Vietnam
Local time: 12:47
Vietnamese
+ ...
Sep 25, 2006

Hi All,

I am a newbie here. Sorry if I waste your time.

Can someone sumarize the charge, advantage, disadvatage, etc of each method of payment?

Thank you very much.

PS: I am in VietNam and Paypal do not allow to register from VietNam. How to do???

Tim Drayton
Tim Drayton  Identity Verified
Cyprus
Local time: 08:47
Turkish to English
+ ...
Western Union is very fast, but ... Sep 25, 2006

Western Union provides a very reliable and fast service: I think you can collect your money from any outlet 15 minutes after it has been paid in. One thing to watch out for is that they apply an unfavourable exchange rate (i.e. unfavourable to you, favourable to them) which functions as a kind of hidden charge, thus making the process more expensive than it appears at first glance.

Hipyan Nopri
Hipyan Nopri  Identity Verified
Indonesia
Member (2005)
English to Indonesian
+ ...
Your situation is the same as mine Sep 25, 2006

There is no PayPal in Indonesia either. I usually ask my clients to pay me through bank transfer or Western Union. But, you can also open a Moneybookers account as substitute for PayPal. Unlike PayPal, it is available to freelancers all over the world.
Bank transfer takes about three working days, WU takes only a few hours, and MB takes just a few seconds. So far, I have no problem with each of them.

[Edited at 2006-09-25 11:04]

Pham Hoa Hiep
Pham Hoa Hiep  Identity Verified
Vietnam
English to Vietnamese
+ ...
Money matters Sep 26, 2006

Dear Phong