Bad practice by a previously trusted agency
Thread poster: Tamara Zahran

Tamara Zahran  Identity Verified
Local time: 07:10
English to Arabic
Feb 9, 2007

Dear All,

I am having a bad problem regarding payment from an agency in the UK which I have been working for since 2 years, and never had a problem with them in this regard.

They have a policy of not sending international transfers unless the amount of the payement is more than Euro 600. With previous payments I was in the UK and and managed to provide them with the details of a bank account there to send the money to. The last group of invoices I sent to them was sent on November 12th, 2006, three months ago, and the total amount was more than Euro 1600. Their payement is usually sent 30 days after invoicing. so I wated till around December 20 to check with them, they said they have to delay the payment until after the first week of the new year. I said, "OK", and waited for another month, after which I tried to contact them again, and this time was told that they will check with the accountant and let me know. Then after that they said they have a small job that they need me to do before they send the payment, and they will add it to the payment and send right away. I agreed once again, and since then they sent another two small jobs, every time saying the same, and the last one of them was sent yesterday and due today. I haven't sent it yet, waiting for a reply from them regarding payment, because I told them this time that I don't want the payment of this one added to the invoice. I've been trying to call them since yesterday, and always get a reply from someone who says she doesn't know anything about this because she doesn't deal directly with translators. Knowing that the number I dial is the direct number of the person who sends me the projects all the time, but now she's not picking the phone herself.