Pages in topic:   [1 2 3] >
Are my rates too high ?
Thread poster: Lise Kristensen
Lise Kristensen  Identity Verified
Local time: 08:36
English to Danish
+ ...
Feb 16, 2007

Hi -newbie here, and I was just wondering: a job this week paid $ 0,10 pr word translating 10.800 words on a web-site. A couple of hours ago, I was contacted by an Indian company with a rush-job of 3300 words and they were willing to pay $ 0,05. I politely declined, but was wondering whether perhaps the rates fall so much outside Europe.
I don't want to charge too much, buton the other hand, I won't sell myself too cheaply.
Thoughts, anyone?

Lise

Direct link Reply with quote

Soren Petersen
United States
Local time: 01:36
English to Danish
+ ...
Don't undersell yourself Feb 16, 2007

I got the same offer and declined as well. No need to settle for those low rates when there's plenty of good agencies willing to pay fair rates.

Cheers,
Søren

Hipyan Nopri  Identity Verified
Indonesia
Local time: 13:36
English to Indonesian
+ ...
Typical Case Feb 16, 2007

Lise Kristensen wrote:

. . . paid $ 0,10 pr word translating 10.800 words on a web-site. A couple of hours ago, I was contacted by an Indian company with a rush-job of 3300 words and they were willing to pay $ 0,05.

Lise

Hi Lise,

Your rate is good enough. Nevertheless, it is slightly lower than mine (as a freelancer living in a developing country). As for your last job offer, it is a typical case of Asian agencies. In general, their offered rates are a half of my normal rate while it is greatly possible that their clients are international companies who are capable of paying for decent rates. Just decline their offer politely.

xxxIreneN
United States
Local time: 01:36
English to Russian
+ ...
Bad as it is but considering the 'rush' component Feb 16, 2007

Hipyan Nopri wrote:

Just decline their offer politely.

you don't even have to be excessively polite:-)

You did the right thing.
Irene

Nicole Blanc  Identity Verified
France