what to quote for translating books
Thread poster: margarita506
margarita506
English to Spanish
+ ...
Mar 19, 2007

Hello. I have been translating for a few years, and have always charged by the word, or charged a minimum charge for small jobs.

I have been asked to quote two books, one that was on the New York Times Bestseller List! What to do??

Info: I charge my clients right now .16 US per word. I usually make around $40-60 US per hour doing this. These books each are around 550 pages long, and I estimate about 400 words per page.

I REALLY want the job, but don't want to underquote just to get it. Nor do I want to go in too high and lose it. Any and all suggestions are welcome. Also, am I correct in assuming it will take me at least three months to translate one book (non-technical). Thanks so much!!

Direct link Reply with quote

Jenny Forbes  Identity Verified
Local time: 22:29
Member (2006)
French to English
+ ...
Charge your normal rate Mar 19, 2007

margarita506 wrote:

Hello. I have been translating for a few years, and have always charged by the word, or charged a minimum charge for small jobs.

I have been asked to quote two books, one that was on the New York Times Bestseller List! What to do??

Info: I charge my clients right now .16 US per word. I usually make around $40-60 US per hour doing this. These books each are around 550 pages long, and I estimate about 400 words per page.

I REALLY want the job, but don't want to underquote just to get it. Nor do I want to go in too high and lose it. Any and all suggestions are welcome. Also, am I correct in assuming it will take me at least three months to translate one book (non-technical). Thanks so much!!

Hullo Margarita,