pricing of knitting patterns translation -advice needed
Thread poster: ecolotrad
ecolotrad
Local time: 01:24
English to French
May 10, 2007

Hello,

I have been translating knitting patterns for a few years, as a hobby and to help. Now the company changed the distribution channel, and wants to have the patterns translated directly for her. As it becomes something different than a hobby, I have difficulties to know how much I can charge fro the translation.
The price will be per pattern, and I counted that in a brochure, the patterns are usually around 1300 words. Of course there are lots of repetitions, and lots of numbers, and it is difficult to pay per word (the numbers count as words in word). That is how it looks in french :

" DOS
Avec les aig n°5 monter 92 [96:100: 104: 108: 114] m.
Commencer par un rg endroit et tric 14 rgs en jersey end.
* Rg suivant – (10 m end, 2 m end ens) 2 fois, tric end jusqu’aux 24 dern m, (Gl 1 m, 1 m end, faire passer la m glissée par-dessus la m obtenue, 10 m end) 2 fois. 88 [92: 96: 100: 104:110] m.
Tric encore 11 rgs, en terminant par un rg sur l’env du trav.
Rép depuis* encore 4 fois, puis le 1er rg encore une fois. 68 [72: 76: 80: 84: 90] m.
Continuer tout droit à ce que le dos mesure 37 [37: 39:40: 40: 42] cm.
Emmanchures
Rabattre 3 [4: 4: 5: 6: 6] m au début des 2 rgs suivants. 62 [64: 68: 70: 72: 78] m.
Tric 0 [2: 2; 4: 4: 4] rgs en dim 0 [1: 1: 1: 1: 1] m de chaque côté à chaque rg.
62 [60: 64: 62: 64: 70] m. "

It takes me about 40 mn to one hour to translate a pattern, and I do not know how much I can ask, knowing that if I register (and I will), I will have charges. I also rarely do more than 5 patterns/day, if this is taken into account...?

Thanks in advance,

Stéphanie.

Direct link Reply with quote

Margreet Logmans  Identity Verified
Netherlands
English to Dutch
+ ...
Per hour, and keep in mind May 10, 2007

Hi Stéphanie,