Pages in topic:   [1 2] >
Which expenses are deductible?
Thread poster: eva75
eva75
eva75
English
+ ...
May 27, 2007

I would like to write off as business expenditure (I'm a self-employed translator) but I'm not quite sure if I can write them all off 100% (does it depend on the amount of each expense?)

I think that all of the following can be justified as being relevant or crucial in order to survive/keep up to date in my situation:
- Mortgage on an apartment/office in a foreign country
- Academic resources, such as books, audiovisual material
- Language courses
- Cultural
... See more
I would like to write off as business expenditure (I'm a self-employed translator) but I'm not quite sure if I can write them all off 100% (does it depend on the amount of each expense?)

I think that all of the following can be justified as being relevant or crucial in order to survive/keep up to date in my situation:
- Mortgage on an apartment/office in a foreign country
- Academic resources, such as books, audiovisual material
- Language courses
- Cultural visits (cinema, theatre)
- Flights/transport to foreign countries to visit clients
- Flights/transport to foreign countries for language stays
- Further and ongoing education

What do you other translators write off as business expenditure to keep your income tax levels low?
Collapse

Ralf Lemster
Ralf Lemster  Identity Verified
Germany
Local time: 14:24
English to German
+ ...
Depends on the country, and on your tax status May 27, 2007

Hi Eva,
Your question is impossible to answer without knowing which tax legislation applies. On a general note, I would suggest to contact your tax advisor.

Best regards,
Ralf

Astrid Elke Witte
Astrid Elke Witte  Identity Verified
Germany
Member (2002)
German to English
+ ...
Do you have a local enterprise trust? May 27, 2007

Hi Eva,