Thread poster: Alyona Douglas

Alyona Douglas  Identity Verified
United States
Local time: 09:21
Member (2007)
English to Russian
Oct 15, 2007

Hi guys!

I've been contacted by a translation agency in the Eastern Europe - we're in the process of signing a contract now.

They ask me to choose a type of settlement with them - either a contract for each job or an invoice, but they say that I can issue invoices only if I have a registered business activity. I'm an independent contractor using my SSN for tax purposes. Do they mean that I need to have a business lisense?

Direct link Reply with quote

xxxLatin_Hellas
United States
Local time: 18:21
Italian to English
+ ...
Sole Proprietorship Oct 15, 2007

Try to explain to them that under US federal law, you are a registered business in the form of a sole proprietorship (by virtue of filing Schedule C, but this detail may be hard to explain) and, as you already mentioned, your business registration number is the same as your SSN.

Now, at the county and city/town level, you may have also registered as a local business (if you didn't, you ought to check your local ordinances, because probably you should, but laws do vary from state to state, county to county). If you have, your local registration number and certificate is your business license for your county and city/town.

Either or both of these should satisfy them. Hopefully they are not obsessed with bureaucratic details to the point of asphyxiating business before it even gets started.

All the best!

[Edited at 2007-10-15 20:35]

Nicole Schnell  Identity Verified
United States
English to German
+ ...
Hi Alla! Oct 16, 2007

You should register your business under your personal or whatever assumed business name, you can do this online. Costs approx. $ 20. Look for SBA California (Small Business Administration). Do not register with any website that doesn't end with .gov. You will receive a tax ID #, which is your Employer ID. That's necessary for tax purposes.