What is meant by "PO"?
Thread poster: Åsa_Maria K
Åsa_Maria K
Åsa_Maria K  Identity Verified
Sweden
Local time: 12:23
English to Swedish
Oct 25, 2007

I just received a job for a client who says "Please do't start without a PO".

What does she mean?

Ralf Lemster
Ralf Lemster  Identity Verified
Germany
English to German
+ ...
PO = purchase order Oct 25, 2007

What the client tells you is to wait for their purchase order.

HTH, Ralf

Åsa_Maria K
Sweden
English to Swedish
TOPIC STARTER
Thank you! Oct 25, 2007

I am new in this business, as you might understand...:-)

Jan Willem van Dormolen (X)
Jan Willem van Dormolen (X)  Identity Verified
Netherlands
English to Dutch
+ ...
Details Oct 25, 2007

A 'Purchase Order' or 'Project Order' is a document that lists what you are supposed to do (which documents should be translated/reviewed into which language), some characteristics of the job (number of words, number of full/partial/no matches), how to deliver (by e-mail, by mail, by FTP, as .doc, TM included or not, etc), when to deliver (deadline, in one go or bit by bit), and last but not least, what they're gonna pay you.
Some agencies have more elaborate PO's then others, but above it
... See more
A 'Purchase Order' or 'Project Order' is a document that lists what you are supposed to do (which documents should be translated/reviewed into which language), some characteristics of the job (number of words, number of full/partial/no matches), how to deliver (by e-mail, by mail, by FTP, as .doc, TM included or not, etc), when to deliver (deadline, in one go or bit by bit), and last but not least, what they're gonna pay you.
Some agencies have more elaborate PO's then others, but above items are usually included.