https://www.proz.com/forum/money_matters/90449-approaches_to_accounting_invoicing.html

Approaches to accounting/invoicing.
Thread poster: Owen Witesman
Owen Witesman
Owen Witesman
Local time: 19:27
Finnish to English
+ ...
Nov 27, 2007

For context for this post, I'm a freelancer who varies from full-time during the summer months to less than part-time during the end of each university term (I'm also working on PhD...).

How do folks deal with their accounting and billing? So far I've been invoicing manually using a Word template and printing to PDF. I then put the PDF's in a folder for tracking and email them to the client. When I receive a payment, I delete the PDF from that "Unpaid Invoices" folder and record th
... See more
For context for this post, I'm a freelancer who varies from full-time during the summer months to less than part-time during the end of each university term (I'm also working on PhD...).

How do folks deal with their accounting and billing? So far I've been invoicing manually using a Word template and printing to PDF. I then put the PDF's in a folder for tracking and email them to the client. When I receive a payment, I delete the PDF from that "Unpaid Invoices" folder and record the payment in a Excel spreadsheet. Obviously, at the very least it would be better for me to record the unpaid amounts in the Excel spreadsheet initially as well--I've just been lazy and I know it.

Anyway, you can imagine how this system could get out of whack during times when I have a lot of jobs, odd payment periods, when I receive different currencies...

Other than hiring an outside accountant, how do you all handle your billing and tracking of payments? Is Translation Office 3000 a good solution? Does anyone use an open source billing solution? Is there something that integrates well with Trados?
Collapse

Marie-Hélène Hayles
Marie-Hélène Hayles  Identity Verified
Local time: 03:27
Italian to English
+ ...
Manual system Nov 27, 2007