Thread poster: magdalena2000
magdalena2000
Spain
Local time: 15:25
English to Polish
+ ...
Jan 7, 2008

Hello

I just moved to London from Barcelona so some of my clients are from Spain and they prefer to pay me in Euro (it is not a problem as I can receive payment by paypal). However, I am not sure how to issue an invoice? I know there has to be the amount in GBP on the invoice as well. Does anyone know accoring to which bank's exchange rate should I calculate it?

Many thanks!

Direct link Reply with quote

simona dachille  Identity Verified
United Kingdom
Local time: 14:25
Italian to English
no need to convert Jan 7, 2008

I work as a self-employed translator in the UK and issue invoices to Italian clients in euro. I don't convert it but when I do my tax return I rely on www.xe.com/ucc to convert the final amount into pounds.

mjbjosh
English to Latvian
+ ...
Official Journal Jan 7, 2008

Does anyone know accoring to which bank's exchange rate should I calculate it?

I'd use the one that is published in the Official Journal of the European Union or the Bank of England rate.

[Edited at 2008-01-07 20:31]

Angela Dickson  Identity Verified
United Kingdom
French to English
+ ...
no conversion Jan 7, 2008

As far as I know there's no need to convert. What I do is issue the invoice in euros, receive the amount into my British account and declare as income the (sterling) amount received into my account.

And if I'm doing it wrong, I have just told the whole world about it.

Marijke Singer  Identity Verified
United Kingdom
Dutch to English
+ ...
I use this method too and am based in the UK Jan 8, 2008

simona dachille wrote:

I work as a self-employed translator in the UK and issue invoices to Italian clients in euro. I don't convert it but when I do my tax return I rely on www.xe.com/ucc to convert the final amount into pounds.

XE also has a historical currency converter:
http://www.xe.com/ict/